The Transformation Institute for Leadership & Innovation, a federally incorporated, in association Silvertrust Media held its annual Transformation Awards gala, on Friday, June 15th 2018 at the Liberty Grand in Toronto. The 150 Extraordinary Canadians legacy book was launched at the event. The book profiles leaders and innovators for their corporate, public sector and philanthropic contributions to the progress of Canada and for making the world a better place. Since 2010, the awards program, also known as Harmony or Diversity, has recognized unique success stories.

The red-carpet reception honoured the following 12 distinguished recipients this year.   Ethiopian Airlines Canada Country Manager Birhan Abate and Sales Manager David Timmins were at this years event. Birhan Abate presented the Harmony Award to Maria Saras-Voutsinas, Executive Director, National Ethnic Press & Media Council, a non-profit organization that works with and for diverse communities across Canada to advocate free speech, equality and human rights by working with all levels of government and private sectors. Ethiopian Airlines Canada also sponsored this year’s event by providing 2 Business Class Tickets as part of the grand prizes for the Gala.

List of all the 12 award winners : The Leadership Award was presented to Anthony Lacavera, Founder, Wind Mobile and Chairman of Globalive. Entertainment, legendary Inuk singer Susan Aglukark; Lifetime Achievement, Pyarali Nanji, Philanthropist and Belle-Pak Packaging President; Innovation, Brian Deck, Smooth Commerce CEO; Enterprise, Moniruz Zaman, Bullion Mart CEO; and Excellence Award, Christopher Gordon, Partner, EY. The Media Award was presented to Deepa Mehta, Oscar-Nominated Director; Public Service, David Mitchell, Assistant Deputy Minister; Harmony, Maria Saras-Voutsinas, Executive Director, National Ethnic Press & Media Council; Heritage, Shiu King Kong; Community Service; Charity Lebeanya, Executive Director, Heritage Skills Development Centre; Legacy Award, Anton Kikas, President, Anton Kikas Limited.

Mark Beckles, Senior Director, Youth Strategy & Innovation, Royal Bank of Canada, delivered the keynote address. Profiled in the 150 Extraordinary Canadians Legacy Book, the function involved investiture and designation of Mark Beckles as Fellow of The Transformation Institute (FTI). The event will be broadcast on various television stations across Canada.

Photo Above & Below: Maria Saras-Voutsinas, Executive Director, National Ethnic Press & Media Council receives the Harmony Award from Birhan Abate Ethiopian Airlines Canada, Country Manager at gala reception.